Applications
Accueil
FULL KITE   |   ESSAIS - TESTS   |   VOYAGES   |   FOIL   |   VENTE DE GARAGE   |   LIENS UTILES   |     CONTACT  
Imprimer   |   Inscription   |   Connexion

FULL KITE   >>   New to Montreal

New to Montreal

Messagepar dr_doom » Sam 05 Avr 2014 11:44

Salut tous! Hey all!

I apologize in advance but I do not speak French! I will take some lessons soon, though ;)

I am new to Montreal (arrived on Monday 31 Apr) and brought 5 kites, 1 buggy, pair of kite skates (Doom Wheels) and snow blades. Let's start with the questions:

1. Where to kite buggy and doom-wheel?
2. What are the best winds?
3. Are the winds really as gusty as the Windguru shows?
4. Do you guys have any medical insurance upgrade for kiting?

I moved here from New Zealand and if you are interested what I have been up to here is my YouTube channel. I hope to be adding new vids from around here ;)

[youtube]g1KtguMQMtg[/youtube]

I look forward for some kiting action soon!
dr_doom

Re: New to Montreal

Messagepar KiteRider » Mar 08 Avr 2014 09:06

G'day mate.

Varennes, Parc de la Commune. When you enter the village of Varenne, it is to your left, after the water station.
Beauharnois, on the island between the Hydro-Quebec central and the St-Lawrence waterway/lock.

W ( SW to NW) for Varennes, E-NE for Beauharnois.

Nope, it is worse. Just kidding. Like everywhere else I guess, winds are sometimes good, sometimes, well, less good. Windguru gives okay forecasts, but you may also consider toutoumeteo as an excellent forecast site, as it is more aware of local phenomenons (like S winds not reaching Lac des 2 Montagnes).

I'd say most of us do not, unless travelling outside Quebec. For here in Quebec, if you have the Quebec medical insurance card, you are okay.